Early birds race for worthy cause

Sixth annual Retina Race took place over a winding five-kilometre course around the EURETINA congress centre

Colin Kerr

Posted: Wednesday, November 1, 2017

An early alarm clock call was the order of the day for the large group of dedicated runners who turned out in the pre-dawn darkness in Barcelona to support the 2017 Retina Race in aid of ORBIS.

Organised by EURETINA and sponsored by Novartis, the sixth annual Retina Race took place over a winding five-kilometre course around the congress centre, finishing on the picturesque Barcelona seafront.

Drawn from the assorted ranks of ophthalmologists, scientists and exhibitors in town to attend the 17th EURETINA Congress, almost 100 runners of all ages took part in the race, cheered on by well-wishers, friends and family members.

Maximilian Pfau of Germany was first past the post in a blistering time of 17 minutes and 16 seconds. The first female competitor to cross the finishing line was Elin Holm, who finished the race in 22 minutes.

While the emphasis of the Retina Race is firmly on the fun aspect of participating and raising money for charity, the runners were still keen to improve on personal best times and perhaps earn a place on the winner’s podium.

Speaking on behalf of EURETINA, Anat Loewenstein, co-founder of the race along with Stephane Wolf of Novartis, said that the participants could be proud of their achievement in running for the noble goal
of saving vision.

Key race organiser Stephane Wolf thanked everyone who took part in the race and said he hoped to see even more people taking part next year, when the 18th EURETINA Congress will be held in Vienna, Austria.

List of Winners 2017
Women over 50 category: (1) Maud Righini, (2) Anat Loewenstein, (3) Claudia Richard
Men over 50: (1) Knut Sturmhoefel, (2) Eli Zangvil, (3) Francesc Diaz Plata
Women 40-50: (1) Elin Holm, (2) Maja Gran Erke, (3) Nina Angelsen
Men 40-50: (1) Huw Jenkins, (2) Paris Tranos, (3) Stephane Wolf
Women 30-40: (1) Chantal Dysli, (2) Joke Debruyn, (3) Alexandra Miere
Men 30-40: (1) Julien Bullet, (2) Jonathan Smith, (3) Martin Vantomme
Women Under 30: (1) Ajla Nebi
Men’s Under 30: (1) Maximilian Pfau, (2) Elon Van Dijk, (3) Jayzer Jen Caerlang