ESCRS Video Competition Winners

Winning videos highlight technological developments in cataract and refractive surgery

Roibeard O’hEineachain

Posted: Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Michael Blumenthal Award winner Tadahiko Kozawa

THE winning videos in this year’s video competition highlight some of the latest technological developments in cataract and refractive surgery as well as useful knowledge gained through years of practice.


The competition’s overall winner for the Michael Blumenthal Award was Tadahiko Kozawa, Japan, for “New Propeller Turbo Tip for torsional phacoemulsification and aspiration”. The presentation describes a new phaco-tip designed to reduce the risk of tissue damage that can result from the scattering of lens tissue that occurs with conventional torsional phacoemulsification. The lumen of the 3.0mm tip is bisected by a plate extending 1.0mm into the tip. The tip oscillates on the axis of its
lumen and, unlike conventional torsional phaco-tips, has no side-
to-side movement.

Using high-speed video recording, the presentation shows that under laboratory conditions the turbo propeller tip produced almost none of the scattering seen with conventional torsional phaco-tips. Furthermore, the conventional torsional tip caused capsule rapture in porcine capsules at moderate speed oscillations, whereas capsules remained intact at very high-speed oscillations with the new propeller tip.


Jiří Cendelin, Czech Republic, won in this category for “Special features of traumatic cataract surgery in children”. The presentation provides many useful tips for dealing with such often troubling cases, interspersed with charming and amusing cartoons.


First prize in the innovative category went to Liliana Werner, USA, for “Fun with femtosecond lasers: episode II – adjustment of IOL power”. The presentation describes a method of using a femtosecond laser to postoperatively adjust the refractive properties of an acrylic intraocular lens (IOL). The technique involves using the laser to alter the hydrophilicity, and therefore the refractive index, of the IOL material to create a Fresnel-shaped layer within the lens.


In the Scientific category, Mayumi Nagata, Japan, took first prize for “Prevention of anterior capsulorhexis contraction”, which shows how an IOL with a rimmed optic edge can reduce to clinical insignificance the extent of the postoperative complication. Using Pentacam imaging, the presentation reveals that the elevated rim of the optic’s anterior edge actually lifts the capsular edge clear of the optic itself. In addition, the video presents laboratory findings suggesting that the resulting exposure to the aqueous humour suppresses lens epithelial cell proliferation on the anterior capsular edge.


Soosan Jacob, India, took first prize in the Difficult and Special Cases category for “Smile away a dermoid”. It describes a new technique for treating limbal dermoids using a small-incision lenticule extraction (SMILE) lenticule and India ink.

The procedure involves first excising the tumour and then tattooing the exposed stromal tissue with India ink to reduce postoperative cosmetic defects. Afterwards a SMILE-cut lenticule is fastened into place with fibrin glue and the wound is also sealed with fibrin glue.


In the historical category Robert Osher, USA, received first prize for “Complications of Ophthalmic Anaesthesia: A Career Odyssey”.

In it he describes the anaesthesia complications he has encountered over the decades and how he dealt with the emergencies as they arose. The complications range from retrobulbar haemorrhages of the venous and the arterial type, to over-sedation and adverse behavioural reactions to the sedative.


In the Resident in Training category first prize went to Arushi Garg, India, for “The Wondrous World of Refractive Surgery: A Beginner’s Journey”. She presents a check-list for the preoperative work-up and intraoperative and postoperative care of patients undergoing refractive surgery.