ESCRS Board Election 2019

Aidan Hanratty

Posted: Tuesday, January 21, 2020

An election for five positions on the Board took place in 2019 and 17 full members of the ESCRS were nominated. The following candidates were successful in being elected and their term of office began in January 2020.

Jorge Alió, Spain
Jorge Alió MD, PhD, FEBO, is Professor and Chairman of Ophthalmology, University Miguel Hernandez, Alicante, founder of Vissum Corporation, Spain, and the Jorge Alió Foundation for the Prevention of Blindness. He is a high-volume surgeon in cataract, cornea and refractive surgery with over 50,000 surgeries performed.


Bruce Allan, UK
Bruce Allan has been on the staff at Moorfields Eye Hospital in London, UK, since 1998, chair of the UK Refractive Surgery Standards Working Group since 2015 and an EuCornea Board member since 2017. He has lectured and published widely.



Vikentia Katsanevaki, Greece
Vikentia Katsanevaki, MD, PhD, of the Orasis Eye Center, Athens, Greece, has been active within the ESCRS for the past 15 years. She has been, and continues to be, a member of the Programme Committee, Poster sub-group, faculty of the refractive surgery didactic course, invited lecturer and faculty of various instructional courses and senior instructor of refractive wetlabs. She has been an elected member of the ESCRS Board since 2015.


Nic Reus, The Netherlands
Nic Reus, Amphia Hospital, Berda, the Netherlands, is a member of the ESCRS Programme Committee and a member of the Poster sub-group. Since 2011, he has been a senior course and wetlab instructor and on the faculty of the Young Ophthalmologists Programme at ESCRS meetings. He also acts as liaison between the ESCRS and the European Society of Ophthalmic Nurses and Technicians (ESONT). He has been a board member of the Netherlands Intraocular Implant Club (NIOIC) since 2009.

Filomena Ribeiro, Portugal
Filomena Ribeiro, Hospital da Luz, Lisbon, Portugal, has been an ESCRS Co-Opted Board Member and a member of the Programme and Young Ophthalmologists Committees. She is the head of the Hospital da Luz Ophthalmology Department, Professor of Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Lisbon, and on the Board of the Portuguese College of Ophthalmology.