ESCRS Clinical Research Awards

Colin Kerr

Posted: Tuesday, May 1, 2018

The 2018/2019 ESCRS Clinical Research Awards is an initiative sponsored by the ESCRS to support and encourage independent clinical research in the field of cataract and refractive surgery.
The competition is open to all clinicians and researchers (with at least three years’ ESCRS membership) holding a full-time clinical/research post at an EU-based clinical or academic centre.

The purpose of the Award is:
∙ to support, encourage and fund individuals that actively conduct clinical research in the field of cataract and refractive surgery;
∙ to facilitate and support an independent culture of clinical study for the ultimate benefit of patients with cataract and refractive disorders;
∙ to engage and encourage the networking potential of the ophthalmic clinical community across the EU to improve both patient care and outcomes.

€750,000 is available over three years for the right project with suitable infrastructure and experience.

Ideas ranging from clinical research into the use of specific medical treatments and surgeries, or clinical research on the pharmaco-economic analysis of particular treatments, or research into the optimal management of national and global health care systems in ophthalmology; all such initiatives may be eligible for consideration in the Awards.

Previous winners of the ESCRS Clinical Research Awards include Dr Rudy MMA Nuijts MD, PhD, University Hospital Maastricht, Netherlands (2012), Prof Mats Lundström, Karlskrona, Sweden (2013) and Dr Jan-Willem M. Beenakker and Prof Dr Oliver Findl (2016).

The deadline for application is 31 May 2018. For more information visit